Learn Punjabi Matras

To add vowel sounds between consonant letters, you use the vowel signs, called matraas. There are matraas for each of the ten vowel letters. The vowels of Gurmukhi are identical to the Punjabi alphabet and are known as laga matra. Below are the 10 laga matras used in Gurmukhi Script -

Laga Matara


1.  Mukta (ਮੁਕਤਾ) - A (ਅ) -
2. Kannaa (ਕੰਨਾ) -AA (ਆ)
3. Sihari (ਸਿਹਾਰੀ) - I (ਇ) ਿ
4. Bihari (ਬਿਹਾਰੀ) - EE (ਈ)
5.  Aunkar (ਔਕੜ) - U (ਉ)
6. Dulankar (ਦੂਲੈ) - OO (ਊ)
7. Laavan (ਲਾਵਾਂ) - AE (ਏ)
8. Dulaavan (ਦੁਲਾਵਾਂ) - AI (ੲੈ)
9. Horaa (ਹੋੜਾ) - O (ਓ)
10. Kanauraa (ਕਨੌੜਾ) - AU (ਔ)

Lagakhar ਲਗਾਖਰ -

These Lagakhar signs are used with the matras.
Below are the 3 lagakhar signs used in Gurmukhi Script -



1. Bindi (ਬਿੰਦੀ)
2. Tippee (ਟਿੱਪੀ)
3. Adhak (ਅਧਕ)

Welcome !

Kathas Aarti Mantra Shaloka Pooja Chalisa Bhajan